Empanadas

Sometimes I spend the boring parts of my classes thinking about food. And by sometimes, I mean all the time. If a professor starts mumbling about why I’m going to definitely need to know the intricacies of the Seiberg-Witten Theory, the chance that I’m contemplating my lunch is 100%. It’s where I come up with my best ideas!

I also like to play a fun game called “make one meal with a bunch of random things in the fridge”, which I’m pretty sure is what every adult does every day. But it’s hard for a beginner! Like today, I knew I had a bunch of cheese, some chicken, spinach leaves, and taco seasoning. So I decided to just stir it all together and put it inside some bread and call it an empanada. It actually turned out really good! Minus the fact that I accidentally left the tendony bits in one of the chicken pieces…. But other than that one horribly crunchy piece, it was great!

A piece of the finished dough rolled out, a slice of cheese placed in the middle, and a pile of filling on top on that (I used chicken, spinach, cheddar cheese, and taco seasoning). Another slice of cheese was then placed on top. The cheese helps to keep the juices on the filling from leaking out.

The dough was folded in thirds around the filling, and then folded in thirds the other way as well to keep the filling inside.

The finished empanadas- they leaked a little bit of cheese in the oven, but that didn’t hurt the buns at all!

img_0288

It was sooooooo delicious.

Empanadas:

1.    Combine 500 g white flour + 390 g water + 2 tsp salt + 1 tsp yeast. Stir until combined. Cover and let sit ~7 hours (plus or minus 2 hours depending on how “yeasty” you want it to taste).

2.   Make the filling. I used chicken breast, spinach, taco seasoning, and cheddar cheese. Anything else delicious could also be substituted.

3.   Using a LOT of flour (so it doesn’t stick to hands or a table), rip off a tennis ball sized piece of dough and use your hand to flatten it out in a circle.

4.   Place a slice of cheese over the dough (do the sauce doesn’t leak through) and place a large spoonful of the filling on top. Top with another slice of cheese. Pull the dough around the filling and cheese and press it together to seal the edges.

5.   Place seam-side down on an oiled baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes at 350ºF or until light brown.

 

Leave a Reply

