Avacado Croissants

Sometimes I like to pretend like I’m a healthy eater. I’m really not, because I eat a lot of junk and a lot of butter, because it’s delicious, but I can still pretend. I’ve come up with a really good system to convince myself I eat well. Every day I eat a lot of unhealthy food, I eat less unhealthy food the next day, and then I’m like “wow good job self, you’re gonna be so healthy”. This usually comes in the form of eating only 1/3 of a pint of Ben & Jerry’s instead of the whole thing. But hey, it’s all about the little victories. This is a great plan because it means that you’re happy 100% of the time (50% of the time when you’re eating delicious food, and 50% of the time when you’re eating “healthy” food). You’re welcome to anyone whose life I just revolutionized.

Today I convinced myself that croissants are too unhealthy for me to eat every day and still feel good about myself. So I replaced half of the butter with an equal amount of mashed avocados. It seemed like a great idea to me, because I know that avocados are high in fat, but they have the kind of fat that’s not terrible for you. The croissants came out really good in the end, but I’m not sure I could confidently call them “croissants”. Turns out the butter is super important for making the dough airy and flaky, and without that it’s just… dough. But if I were to call them avocado rolls, they would be perfect! And they didn’t even taste like avocados, which was unexpected!

I started by making the dough and the “butter slab” exactly as I did in my previous post about croissants, but this time I replaced half of the butter with an equal amount of mashed avocado. Then I folded the two together, four times in total, just like the previous recipe (more details there).

The finished loaf was sliced into 12 “strips” by cutting the loaf in half, and then cutting each half into 6 pieces.

Each strip was rolled out with a rolling pin until it was flatter and ~5 or 6 inched long. A third of a piece of swiss cheese was placed on top and the two were rolled together. The cheese was supposed to add some more “air” when it melted.

The rolls were brushed with egg and then placed on an oiled baking sheet and baked at 375ºF for ~20 minutes or until brown.

As you can see, they look a little green (from the avocado) and there are air bubbles (from the cheese), but definitely not as hand as there would be in a normal croissant.

They were delicious, but could have used a little more salt!

Recipe (without the avocado and cheese):  http://www.sprinkledwithjules.com/home/2015/8/29/chocolate-croissants

Leave a Reply

