Chocolatines (Chocolate Croissants)

I made chocolatines (basically chocolate croissants) today and it was a great decision. The process- which is way easier than it sounds- involves making a giant butter patty and folding it into dough. A GIANT BUTTER PATTY. Like, yes please? The whole recipe was actually kind of relaxing. I started by making the giant butter patty out of 2.25 sticks of butter, and a separate patty of dough (ingredients below). Then I folded the dough around the butter patty and pinched the edged together so that the butter couldn’t escape, and proceeded to fold the mass letter-style (in thirds) nine times, flipping the square patty 90º after each fold. I put it in the freezer for 20 minutes after every two folds to keep the butter solid. By the time I had finished folding I couldn’t even see the butter, which basically meant it wasn’t there, which means it’s healthy.

Then I cut it into strips and rolled them out to elongate them. This is when it started to get good, because I realized that I had done something very right. The dough was smooth and elasticy but also greasy and light. And then I got to roll giant sticks of chocolate around it. I even bought good baking chocolate (the best that Walmart offers, so probably still not great but hey a girl can dream) and it payed off big time! After the rolls sat in the fridge overnight I baked them at 400ºF for 30 minutes and they were pure perfection. I know I say that a lot, but we’re talking brown and flaky, gooey and sweet, buttery and delicious. This was some class A stuff. I give it 5 out of 5 stars, would recommend. Behold the beauty:

The dough (left) and the butter patty (right).

Folding the dough around the butter.

Folding the dough with the butter inside.

IMG_9505

The final dough (with butter)!

IMG_9506

Half of the dough cut into six pieces.

Rolling the final pastries.

The chocolatines before and after baking at 400º for 30 minutes.

The pure perfection of fresh baked chocolatines. All of my family LOVED them and they were all gone within the day.

 

Chocolatines Recipe: http://www.sprinkledwithjules.com/home/2015/8/29/chocolate-croissants

 

 

Leave a Reply

