Braided Chocolate Tea Bread

I was feeling festive today, and also kinda bored. Like I had plennnnty of time to waste proofing dough. It’s probably more accurate to say that I had plenty of time to ignore my actual real life responsibilities like washing my clothes and doing my dishes and I instead decided to make more dishes, which I will wash at an undetermined future time. It was probably the best choice. Instead I made something really cool! It was a learning experience, which doing dished would definitely not have been, because I have to do that all the time. Yet another pro.

I used the recipe for overnight white bread and made three 1/3 batches. One I just made normally (but with 1/4 cup sugar instead of any salt), one I mixed 1/4 cup of hot chocolate mix into the water (which was definitely not enough, it was not sweet enough), and one I mixed 10 grams of matcha tea into the water. I then let them proof separately. When they were done proofing, I rolled them into three long logs and placed them next to each other, then began to braid them. Which made it look SO pretty! Unfortunately, it browned in the oven which covered over the beautiful coloring. But when I cut into it, it still looked really cool with three clear layer. They also tasted different, and my tongue was a little bit confused when it was trying to figure out what the taste was because it kept changing as I chewed. If I make this again I would definitely add a stick of butter to the loaf. It needed some fat to bring out the sugar.

Matcha dough, plain dough, and chocolate dough, in that order.

IMG_9426

The three dough logs just before braiding.

The dough after braiding.

The dough waiting for the oven to preheat, and just after baking.

A cross section of the bread after it had been cooked. Yum!

 

Braided Chocolate Tea Bread:

-Combine 166 g flour + 130 g water + 1/8 tsp yeast + 1/2 cup sugar + 3 tbsp butter.

-In a different bowl, combine 166 g flour + 130 g water + 1/8 tsp yeast + 1/2 cup hot chocolate mix + 3 tbsp butter.

-In a different bowl, combine 166 g flour + 130 g water + 1/8 tsp yeast + 10 g matcha tea powder + 3 tbsp butter.

-Let all three sit for 6-8 hours, covered.

-Roll into three logs and braid, let sit while the oven preheats to 400ºF.

-Bake at 400ºF for 25-30 minutes or until browned.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    How much bread would a Hannah make if a HDM could make bread

    Like

Leave a Reply

