Levain Day 3 – and Pizza

All I wanted today was pizza. Actually, that’s true most days. And I got really sad when I realized that it would take me at least a day to make the dough. But then I got over it really quick, because I actually made the dough, and it smelled JUST like pizza dough should. I also ate a grilled cheese, which in retrospect was probably what made me stop wanting pizza.

Another thing: The levain smelled beautiful this morning! Just like sourdough, if you concentrated the smell of like 10 loaves of sourdough into one bowl. Since today is day 4 (of the 5 days it takes for the dough to mature), I had to throw out MOST of my beautiful smelling levain before feeding it with more flour and water. It was especially sad today, since it seemed like the thing I threw away might actually not taste awful.

Pictures from the pizza dough are after the levain pictures!

IMG_8322 - Version 2

The levain in the morning.

Removing all but 200 grams of the levain.

After adding 500 grams each of flour and water to the remaining levain.

Pizza dough:

IMG_8338

Salt and yeast sprinkled over the mix of flour and water, which sat and fermented for 20 minutes before the other ingredients were added.

IMG_8339

Pizza dough after folding in the salt and yeast.

IMG_8353

Pizza dough after 1 hour of rest and being folded again.

Leave a Reply

