Levain: A Less Sad Story

I took a gentler whiff of the pot of levain in my kitchen this morning. It still smelled like vomit, but this time I only gagged a tiny bit, as opposed to yesterday, when I took a huge whiff and gagged a lot. Since I had to leave it to sit uncovered for two hours before covering, I woke up at 7am so I could be on time to my class at 10am. I am not a morning person. I was very grumpy about having to drag my butt out of bed. But hey, I do it for the bread. The only thing that made it worth it was that when I covered it at 9:30, it actually had a slight waning scent of sourdough. HALLELUJAH!

In other news, I’ve used an entire bag of whole wheat flour in four days. I don’t even like whole wheat flour! I think it tastes like grit. But in all honesty, I haven’t eaten any of it, so I can’t really complain yet. Hopefully all this fermenting makes the grittiness of the flour softer. If not, I’m not sure how I’ll be able to convince myself to spend money on whole wheat flour again. We’ll find out in a few days!

IMG_8310

Dough the morning of day three.

After throwing away 75% of the dough again, and after adding 500 grams each of whole wheat flour and water.

IMG_8314

After combining the ingredients by hand until just incorporated.

IMG_8316

Dough two hours after mixing.

IMG_8322 - Version 2

After a full day of fermenting (finally starting to smell like sourdough)!

Leave a Reply

