Povitica

Happy St. Patricks Day! May your day be filled with weird ham and boiled vegetables. Today the weather was very strange. There was a crazy wind storm as we were driving down the highway, and branches from trees were flying around and falling on us and stuff. I was pretty sure we were going to die Wizard of Oz style by being crushed in a tornado, but luckily that didn’t happen. We parked and were fine. I was actually kinda bummed, I was all ready for excitement. We even payed the parking meter. I tried to tell my mom that nobody was going to check if it was payed because there was a natural disaster occurring and everyone was taking cover, but she insisted on being a good citizen.

Speaking of bread… (Casual topic change)… One of the great thing about bread is that it’s versatile. This is good, because I mess up a lot, and somehow it usually comes out pretty okay. It’s kinda like how the weather made my hair crazy and almost blew my skin off, but I turned out okay in the end. The bread I made today was particularly flexible and particularly AMAZING. It’s called povitica, it’s a sweet Croatian chocolate walnut bread, it’s pretty easy, and it looks very fancy.

I know I’ve talked about my love for chocolate before, but let’s review. Chocolate was created purely for my happiness. I’m 100% sure that’s a true fact.

The filling of the povitica is a mix of walnuts, cocoa powder, sugar, milk, butter, egg, and vanilla. How could you go wrong with that? I made it in the food processor. It was really easy. Then the dough is milk, butter, flour, sugar, egg, salt, and vanilla.  Just mix them all together, knead a few minutes, and let sit for 1 to 1.5 hours. The rest of the process is just technical, and is described below:

Dough after sitting for 1 to 1.5 hours, and finished filling.

Rolling out to the dough to 1.5 ft by 3 feet. I rolled it until it was much thinner than it is in the third picture! You should feel it’s as thin as it could be without tearing. Make sure it isn’t sticking to the surface as you roll/stretch it out.

Spread the filling on the dough. Be patient! Use a rubber spatula and go slow. It should cover the whole surface in a thin layer.

Roll it up until it is a 3 foot long roll! Then coil it into the bread pan (like a snake). You can rub the exposed dough with a little oil if you want it to brown evenly.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, then turn down to 300, cover with aluminum foil, and bake for 30 more minutes.

IMG_5033

Look at that. It’s beautiful! (allow to cool before cutting)

Povitica:

I want to give you the recipe, but Deeba Rajpal does it SO well on Passionate About Baking that instead I’m just going to give you the link:

http://www.passionateaboutbaking.com/2011/10/baking-povitica-croatian-sweet-walnut-chocolate-bread-for-daring-bakers-better-late-than-never.html 

Leave a Reply

