Pizza!

Two important things happened today. The first is that I went to Bed Bath and Beyond and stood in their “bread accessory” aisle (pretty sure that’s not the actual name of the aisle) and got me some fancy bread tools. Like a circular baking pan. It’s actually just a pie tin, but let me have my moment. I also got a cooling rack so I wouldn’t have to line up stacks of unfolded paper napkins on the table in my apartment like an animal. When I was buying these things, I started thinking about which types of bread I want to sell when I get back to school and begin part 2 of my plan (read the “about” section to learn more!), and which types of bread people would actually want. It’s hard to know. Bread bakers don’t seem to have exactly targeted college kids as big buyers of their products, so the data available for what would be most popular is slim. Anyway, more to come on that in the future!

The second important thing about today is that it’s the holiday of my people: Pi Day! For those of you who don’t know, that’s the date equivalent of the mathematical constant, 3.14 (hence Pi Day is on 3/14). It’s kinda a big deal. Yes I did make a pie to celebrate. It looked kinda gross, but it was delicious. Bonus picture at the bottom!

Back to bread. The best food on Earth combines the best two things on Earth (obviously bread and cheese) and mooshes them together. We call it pizza. I realized today that part 4 of my cookbook is dedicated to pizza and, although it seems wrong, I skipped parts 2 and 3 so that I could make some. It was easier than I expected. I mixed together the four ingredients, let it sit 7 hours, split the dough, let it sit another hour, then treated it like any other pizza dough. Plus, it was super good. Very much yummy.

Dough after fermentation, before proofing, and after proofing.

Dough before topping, and both crusts after topping.

Veggie pizza after baking, but before eating (because it was gone).

Pizza Dough (adapted from Flour Water Salt Yeast):

  1. Combine 2.5 cups flour, 1 cup water, 1/2 tbsp salt, and 1/4 tsp yeast. Stir until just combined, then fold until fully combined. Cover and let sit for ~7 hours.
  2. Divide dough into two parts. Fold each part into a ball. Cover each lightly in oil. Cover both and let sit for 1 hour.
  3. Now treat the dough like any other pizza dough! Pull and form each into a large, flat crust. Top with marinara, cheese, and whatever toppings you prefer (I used chicken and eggs on one, and stir friend veggies on another, both were great).

Bonus photo, here’s the pie I made for Pi Day:

It’s supposed to be chocolate cream. It looks so silly! At least it tasted good!

Leave a Reply

