Chocolate Cinnamon Rolls

Last night I made cinnamon rolls, but a less sweet and more chocolately version. Let’s be real, we usually use breakfast as an excuse to eat dessert, but if I’m making something for breakfast I don’t want it to make all my teeth fall out. I want it to be gentle, and substantial enough that I won’t have to eat again until lunch. This is the perfect recipe for that.

The picture of the uncooked rolls is from last night. My parents put them in the oven this morning before I was even awake. But they assured me that the rolls had expanded slightly and were touching in the pan. They baked them at 375 degrees for around 20 minutes, and then they looked brown and beautiful. I considered making a nice glaze out of powdered sugar and water, but they didn’t need it. Aren’t they beautiful? I decided that since I made something fun today I’m going to make something from the bread book tomorrow. My life is full of excitement.

Chocolate Cinnamon rolls (adapted from Taste of Lizzy T’s and Passionate About Baking):

  1. Make the dough: combine 1/2 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter, 1/8 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/4 tsp salt, 2 cups flour, and 1 tsp yeast. Stir until just combined. Cover and let sit for 10 minutes.
  2. Mix by hand or using an electric mixer with the dough hook attachment (electric mixer recommended, don’t be a hero) for 10 minutes. Cover and let sit for 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, make the filling: combine1 egg yolk, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp cocoa powder, 2 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup milk.
  4. Roll out the dough into roughly a 18in x 24in rectangle. Spread the filling on top as evenly as possible.
  5. Roll the dough up so that it is 24 inches long. Some of the filling may squeeze out, but that’s okay! Cut the roll into nine pieces (~2.5 inches long each).
  6. Arrange the rolls in a 9in x 9in pan, well oiled.
  7. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned (or put them in the refrigerator overnight an bake in the morning, same temperature and time)!
Leave a Reply

