Home and Cinnamon

Today I got home for a full week of spring break. There will be much sitting and relaxing. People keep asking me if I have “big plans” and I keep being confused by the fact that people want to use their break to be busy. No. I’m gonna sit on my couch and watch TV and eat chips. Yes please.

I left school at 4:30, got home at 9:00, ate pasta because I was starving and was probably gonna die if I didn’t, and then once I regained my strength I panicked because I realized I didn’t make bread yet. So I quickly decided to make the easiest and also the most delicious thing ever to be created. Chocolate cinnamon rolls. You heard me. It’s like cinnamon rolls, but with sweet sweet chocolate. Prepare your tastebuds.

This bread has like three steps, and they’re all done within a few hours. My mouth is literally watering. It’s like when you see sad puppies on the internet… you just can’t help but cry. Except this is crying for the mouth, and it’s happy tears. The first step is to combine all the ingredients for the rolls: milk, butter, sugar, eggs, salt, flour, yeast (amounts will be in the next post!). Then you let this sit for 10 minutes, stir for 10 minutes, and let is sit for 30 minutes. Meanwhile… mix together the filling: egg yolk, sugar, butter, milk, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and vanilla. It sounds complicated because it’s a lot of words, but it’s really not. Once the 30 minutes is up, roll out the dough into a large rectangle (~2 ft by 1 ft) and spread the filling on top. Then just roll it up, slice it, and put it in a well oiled pan! Yessss that’s it.

I’m making the rolls tonight and will refrigerate them until tomorrow morning so they can be fresh for breakfast.

One Comment Add yours

  1. lprospere says:

    These look like they’ll be amazing! …so don’t be surprised if I show up at you house ..😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

