Sesame Tomato Swirl

It turns out that 2 tablespoons and 2 cups aren’t actually the same thing. I was trying to figure out why the very fragrant sesame bread dough I’d carefully folded together was so wet, when I realized that I’d added wayyyy too much water. About 5 times as much as I was supposed to, actually. I tried to convince myself that it was fine the way it was and that it would pull together after a few hours, but eventually I gave up hope and had to do something very sad. I added more of everything else. Just dumped it on in there like an animal. I didn’t let the flour soak or the yeast rest. I was over that. The magic was already gone. I stirred it together like a savage, tearing all of the beautiful gluten strands, and you know what? It looked fine. Take that.

What makes it sesame bread? Well, it’s like normal bread, but with sesame oil. And a little dash of aggression (that doesn’t actually add to the sesame-ness). Why did I make it? Because I wanted to see what sesame oil would taste like in bread, and that was enough of an excuse to me to try it. I also made a sauce of crushed tomatoes, worcestershire sauce, sugar, and salt, which I spread across the thinly rolled out dough so that I could roll it up and make it look fancy. Doesn’t it look beautiful? I was very proud.

Sesame Tomato Swirl Bread:

  1. Combine 1.25 cups water, 2 cups flour, 1.5 teaspoons sugar, 1.5 teaspoons salt, and all of your dignity in a large bowl. Let it rest for around 20 minutes.
  2. Add 1 teaspoons yeast and 1 tablespoons sesame oil to the bowl and fold until well combined. Cover with a towel and let rise for ~7 hours (or as time permits).
  3. Meanwhile, combine in a saucepan 1/2 can crushed tomatoes, 2 teaspoons worcestershire sauce, 1 teaspoon sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon fire oil (optional) and simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then set mixture aside to cool.
  4. When the bread has risen, roll it out on a very well floured surface until it’s about 24in x 12in and spread the tomato mixture on top in a thin layer. Roll the bread until you have a 12in long tube.
  5. Bake in a bread pan at 375 degrees for 35 minutes or until the top is browned.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love your writing here. WIsh I could have tasted the bread. Sounds quite amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

