Chocolate Orange Overnight White

Chocolate and oranges were make to be together. They are perfection. And just to make sure we’re on the same page here, I don’t understand people who don’t like chocolate. But go ahead and don’t eat it, more for me.

I pulled the towel off the fermenting dough this morning and I think I actually drooled . It was looking and smelling real pretty. I was worried the orange pieces would turn all weird and brown, but they didn’t! It was glorious. I folded the dough a few times to stiffen it up (it was very droopy) and put it into a deep, narrow bowl to proof. Meanwhile, I realized something. The recipe in the book only gives the history of the bread and ingredient amounts, so I thought I was just on my own to figure out how to put it all together. ….Turns out there’s a second page. I felt dumb. It took me a week to figure it out.

I finally got myself together, preheated the oven, and got the bread in. When it came out 30 minutes later I couldn’t wait to eat it. Literally couldn’t. I cut right into the steamy crust and smooshed down all my beautiful air bubbles. I tried some and quickly realized that putting chinks of orange in it was a bad idea. The pulp was tough and weird and the pieces got all dried out. Like soggy orange-raisins. But once I picked them out, it was delicious! And the new fermentation method I used worked really well. The bubbles were huge.

Chocolate Orange Overnight White (adapted from Flour Water Salt Yeast):

  1. Stir together 1.5 cups water and 3.5 cups flour until just combined. Cover and let sit 20 minutes.
  2. Chop 0.5 cups semi-sweet chocolate (I used chocolate chips) and 1 orange. Pour these over the dough. Add 2 tablespoons honey and 1/8 teaspoon yeast. Fold until you feel everything is loosely combined. Cover and let sit 12 hours.
  3. Fold the dough a few more times until it forms a loose ball. Put the ball in a very well floured bowl, cover, and wait 1 hour.
  4. Turn over bowl onto a cookie sheet or dough pan. Bake at 425 for 30 minutes. Makes one loaf.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

